Seven UO students awarded prestigious Fulbright awards

Seven University of Oregon students have received U.S. Student Program Fulbright awards for international study or research during 2012-13, bringing the total number of UO student Fulbright recipients to 201 in the program’s history.

The recipients are Gina Blackburn (Physics, Germany), Catherine Gifford (Urban Development and Planning, Denmark) Lucy Gubbins (English Teaching Assistantship, Armenia), Brian Guy (Political Science, Senegal), Jade Snelling (English Teaching Assistantship, Germany), Jason Tashea (Law, Kosovo), and Adhiraj Vable (Interdisciplinary Studies, India).

For more than 60 years, Fulbright student grants have aimed to increase mutual understanding among nations through educational and cultural exchange while serving as a catalyst for long-term leadership development. Fulbright full grants generally provide funding for round-trip travel, funding to cover room, board, and incidental costs—based on the cost of living in the host country, and health and accident coverage.

For more information, visit the Fulbright U.S. Student Program Web site at Students currently enrolled at the UO or recent graduates should contact the campus Fulbright Program adviser, Cari Vanderkar Moore ( for more information. The on-campus application deadline for the 2013-14 competition is Sept. 19, 2012.