Receive your I-20 or DS-2019

After you are admitted by the UO Office of Admissions, you will receive an immigration document from the University of Oregon required to apply for a non-immigrant visa. Most students will receive an I-20 to apply for an F-1 visa. Exchange and sponsored students may receive a DS-2019 to apply for a J-1 visa. Your immigration document usually arrives within two weeks of your admission to the UO.

Study in the States - Good resource for new and current international students

If you have questions about your immigration document please email the SEVIS Coordinator at

Pay the SEVIS Fee

All prospective students are required to pay the I-901 SEVIS fee before being issued a visa. The SEVIS Fee for F-1 students is $200, and the SEVIS Fee for J-1 students is $180. UO does not receive any portion of this fee.

When you receive your I-20 or DS-2019 immigration document you will receive instructions on how to pay the SEVIS fee. You can pay the fee online through the Student and Exchange Visitor Program SEVIS fee processing website. Remember to print the receipt page from the website when you pay the fee; this is your proof of payment. For questions about the SEVIS fee or payment options, visit the SEVIS fee website.

Visa Interview

After receiving your I-20 or DS-2019 and getting a receipt for payment of the SEVIS fee, you can apply for a visa at a U.S. embassy or consulate. Visa procedures may be different for each U.S. embassy or consulate. Check with the office where you will apply to determine exactly what documents and fees are required. Review the pages below to apply for a visa. After you receive your visa, check to see that your name and date of birth are correct and match the information in your passport.

Applying for an F-1 Visa

Applying for a J-1 Visa

Find a U.S. Embassy or Consulate

Visa Security and Name Checks

Certain students may become subject to an additional name check and security clearance procedure before being issued a visa. This can take several weeks. Visa applicants affected include (but may not be limited to) male students between the ages of 16 and 45 from one of the following countries:

Afghanistan, Algeria, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, Morocco, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen, and students in certain areas of study. Please factor this extra time into your planned visa processing time if you believe you may belong to an affected group.